2012 AILA National Awards in Landscape Architecture

Project: Rio Tinto Naturescape, Kings Park & Botanic Gardens

Twenty-four projects and two landscape leaders were recognized at the 2012 national landscape architecture awards by AILA, announced on 9 August, 2012.

Australian Medal for Landscape Architecture

2012 AILA Australian Medal Winner: UDLA

2012 AILA Australian Medal Winner: UDLA

Project: Walyjala-jala buru jayida jarringun buru Nyamba Yawuru ngan-ga mirli mirli, (Planning for the future: Yawuru Cultural Management Plan): The cultural management plan for Yawuru coastal country and the Yawuru Conservation Estate.
Client: Yawuru Registered Native Title Holders Body Corporate


National Landscape Architecture Awards of Excellence


Plan (E)
Project: Rio Tinto Naturescape, Kings Park & Botanic Gardens
Client: Botanic Gardens & Park Authority (WA)

Edna Walling National Award for Residential Designed Landscapes

Fresh Landscape Design
Project: Roogulli (Bywong NSW)

National Landscape Architecture Awards

Recipient: Jeavons Landscape Architects. Project: Clifton Hill Railway Project Landscape. Client: Department of Transport (Victoria).

Recipient: Jeavons Landscape Architects. Project: Clifton Hill Railway Project Landscape. Client: Department of Transport (Victoria).

Jeavons Landscape Architects
Project: Clifton Hill Railway Project Landscape
Client: Department of Transport (Victoria)

Aspect Studios
Project: Pirrama Park
Client: City of Sydney
Project Partners: Aspect Studios, Hill Thalis Architecture + Urban Projects, CAB Consulting and The City of Sydney

Aspect Studios
Project: Jack Evans Boat Harbour – Tweed Heads
Client: Tweed Shire Council
Project Partners: Tweed Shire Council, McGregor Westlake Architecture, Cardno Grogan Richards, Webb Australia, Wilde and Wollard

Andrew Green (formerly Gamble McKinnon Green)
Project: SW1
Client: Property Solutions and Austcorp

Ecoscape (Australia) Pty Ltd
Project: Mueller Park Universal Playspace
Client: City of Subiaco
Partners: Water Features By Design

Vee Design
Project: Robelle Domain
Client: Ipswich City Council

McGregor Coxall
Project: The Australian Garden and New Entry at the National Gallery of Australia 

Taylor Cullity Lethlean
Project: Wild Sea Exhibit, Melbourne Zoo
Client: Zoos Victoria
Partners: Troppo Architects, David Lancashire Design, Oceanis

Spackman Mossop Michaels
Project: Humanities and Science Campus (Parliamentary Triangle, Canberra)
Client: National Capital Authority


National Landscape Architecture Awards of Excellence

John Mongard Landscape Architects
Project: Bingara and the Living Classroom
Client: Gwydir Shire Council
Partners: Gwydir Shire Council, Vision 2020

National Landscape Architecture Awards

Project: Kimberley LNG Precinct Strategic Assessment: Ethnobiological Report, James Prices Point
Client: Kimberley Land Council

City of Bendigo
Project: Bendigo Botanic Gardens Master Plan
Client: City of Bendigo

Harris Hobbs
Project: Bonner P-6 School & Aboriginal & Torres Straight Islander Learning & Cultural Centre
Client: ACT Education and Training Directorate

McGregor Coxall
Project: Itaoui Woodland Park
Client: Modernity Pty Ltd, Robert Itaoui

Clouston Associates
Project: Clarence River Way Masterplan
Partners: SGL Consulting Group

Land Management

National Landscape Architecture Award

Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architecture
Project: Lollipop Creek
Client: Devine Communities

Research and Communication

National Landscape Architecture Awards

Zoë Metherell
Project: A comparative study of Melbourne’s freeway planting designs – implications for biodiversity conservation
Partners: The Australian Research Centre for Urban Ecology

Oxigen Landscape Architects, Urban Design
Project: Green Infrastructure
Client: Botanical Gardens of Adelaide

Title: LESS (Local-area Envisioning and Sustainability scoring System)
Recipient: Hassell

Urban Design

National Landscape Architecture Awards

Spackman Mossop Michaels
Project: Chinatown Public Domain Plan
Client: The City of Sydney
Partners: The City of Sydney

Taylor Cullity Lethlean
Project: Victoria Square/Tarndanyangga Urban Regeneration Project
Client: Adelaide City Council
Partners: Tonkin Zulaikha Greer


Jim Sinatra Leadership Award

Lucinda Hartley 

Bruce Mackenzie Leadership Award

Gweneth Leigh 

On the 2012 jury were: Niall Simpson (FAILA), Paul Harding FAILA (AILA National President), Alison Breach (AILA National Vice President), Catherine Brouwer (AILA), Gary Rake (FAILA, Chief Executive, National Capital Authority) and Catriona McLeod (Head of Landscape Architecture, UTAS).