Top 14 announced in Indigenous creative leadership program


The British Council has announced the 14 shortlisted participants, who will take part in  the third year of ACCELERATE – a unique career-building experience for Indigenous Australians working in the creative industries.

This year, judges from Australia’s arts funding bodies joined with the British Council to assess 40+ applications from all around the country. The judging process involved a rigorous written interview and required applicants to demonstrate their career achievements to date, and articulate their vision for the future.

Chair of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Board, Ms Lee-Ann Buckskin stated, “We are excited by the calibre of applicants in this year’s ACCELERATE Programme which highlights the active contribution Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander practitioners are making toward artistic and cultural practice in Australia, and it also demonstrates their personal commitment to professional development in an international context to further their artistic leadership.”

Director of the British Council, Mr Nick Marchand said, ‘ACCELERATE nurtures a deep relationship between creative leaders in the UK and Indigenous Australia.  It draws on the strength of the UK’s creative industries, yet equally, learns from the highly talented Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander participants. We are honoured to welcome the 2012 cohort to ACCELERATE and look forward to supporting their journeys as leaders.

Applicants, this year, represented a wide cross-section of arts industries, including: dance, design, visual arts and performing arts. The volume and quality of applicants bears testimony to the great talent of Indigenous Australians engaging with the creative industries at a high level.

The 14 shortlisted applicants – from whom five finalists will be selected to travel to the UK – are: Alison Page (NSW); Nicole Boree (NSW); r e a (NSW); Lily Shearer (NSW); Jane Harrison (Vic); Isaac Drandic (Vic); Jefa Herbert Josef Greenaway (Vic); Rita Pryce (Qld); Bianca Beetson (Qld); Ronald Bradfield (WA); Carly Lane (WA); Gina Williams (WA); Anne Hanning (NT) and Troy-Anthony Baylis (SA).

Visit for more information on the ACCELERATE programme or email